Shaddup Already!





















2005-08-16

I hope I did the right thing

I just sent this email to the advanced trainer at the service dog organization. I just hope I didn't make a huge mistake, but it's too late to turn back now.

I have a question that you all probably get a lot, but I thought the worst that could happen is you would say no. Is there any chance at all that Cami could be a career changer and I could train/use her as a therapy dog?

I figured her barking at random dogs that she sees in the streets wouldn't be a problem if I'm taking her to hospitals/nursing homes (because she won't see any). She would be wonderful at it and would adore visiting with kids especially. Also, I have my summers off (as a teacher), so I could devote 2 1/2 months each year to intensive outreach for New Horizons, therapy dogs and service dogs in general. I would also really love to set up a reading to dogs program at the local library, if they would go for it. These are things I've dreamed about doing ever since I've become aware of their existence.


And I would be willing to pay for her.)


Okay, now that that's off my chest :o) If the career change isn't possible, then I would really like to know when you expect to call her back. I know I'm probably getting irritating by asking you this all the time, it's just that it keeps changing.


When I got Cami, I was supposed to have her for 6 months. Around the time 6 months was up, Janet asked me to keep her for "a few more months." A few more months went by and you were hired (which is good), so I sent you an email about timing. You mentioned about 3 more months and that was just about 3 months ago, I think. So the 6 months has turned into 15 months.


I am so grateful for the extra time I've been allowed to train Cami and get to know her, but I feel like I'm on an emotional rollercoaster. I would be heartbroken if she had to go to another puppyraiser because I'm already the 2nd one she's had, so I'm not really looking to get rid of her before advanced training, as I would like to keep her major adjustments to a minimum. However, I really need to know how much longer I'm going to have her. It's difficult for me emotionally to not be able to plan for her return. Also, it's difficult when people ask me how long I'm going to have her and I don't have an answer for them. I also need to know if I need to get another big crate for my forever puppy, who is just about ready to graduate from his puppy crate.


If I had my 'druthers in returning her, I would want it to be at the beginning of one of my school breaks, so I can get my forever puppy used to the idea of being an only dog. I have fall break during the first week in October and winter break starting on December 19th.


I hope you can understand where I'm coming from in asking these things and that you don't doubt my committment to Cami or New Horizons.

Thanks,
Michelle

I don't sound too whiny or pathetic, do I?

Help end world hunger