Shaddup Already!





















2005-01-09

-

First let me say, Hi teachin-usa I tried to leave you a comment, but you aren't able to get comments?!? I spent a long time composing this incredibly intense and profound thought on bulletin boards and then I lost it all to an error page. I apologize that the masterful words can never be reproduced (i.e. I forgot what I was going to say in the short time that it took for the error message to appear). Anyway, the thought was there :o)

********************************************

So I had a really odd dream last night. It was a little disturbing as well.

*fade in to a dream scene*

Okay, so I'm in my portable, teaching, when the phone rings. I pick it up and it's the receptionist telling me that my class is too loud. She says that my upstairs neighbor is complaining about the noise. To which I calmly reply:

"You must have the wrong person, I'm in a portable, I don't have an upstairs neighbor."

I go on about my business and someone appears at my door. She tells me that I'm to report to the front office immediately, she will cover my class.

I go to the front office and my mom is there. I can't remember why, but she is.

I turn around and the receptionist that just called me says:

"I just wanted to let you know that a neighbor of yours is complaining about the noise in your classroom."

I respond:

"I already told you that it can't be me because I'm in a portable, I don't have anyone right next to me and there is NO ONE UPSTAIRS FROM ME!!!!"

She comes back with:

"No, it was you. He said that at the beginning of class you are yelling so loud that the kids can't hear anything on their headphones."

I cannot believe this, so I ask for more information. She tells me that I'm yelling at students outside, telling them to get to class.

So I come back with:
"Yeah, I have to yell at them because they are so far away from me and no one else is telling them to follow the rules."

She says:
"I know, you're just doing your job, I just wanted to give you a heads-up about the complaint."

I thank her and leave. As I'm leaving, I'm thinking of all my neighbors to try and figure out who it is. Then I remember that the receptionist said "he." So that narrows it down to two. Then she was talking about headphones, so that could mean it could only be Mr. J. I deduce this because Mr. J is a foreign language teacher and who else would be using headphones (we won't mention that we don't have those at my school)?

So now I'm pissed because Mr. J and I have a pretty good rapport (in real life and apparently in my dream as well). So I feel like I've been stabbed in the back. Of course I remember back to a student of his (in real life) who wouldn't go to class and ended up tardy. I called Mr. J to let him know that she had no legitimate reason to be tardy and he could do with that information as he pleases. So I figure that he was just mad at me for making him discipline a student.

It was all very bizarre.

********************************************

Tomorrow is the beginning of the spelling bee. So by the end of the day tomorrow I will be ready to extract

extract

e-x-t-r-a-c-t

extract

my brain through my nasal

nasal

n-a-s-a-l

nasal

orifice.

Wish me luck

luck

l-u-c-k

luck

My students just don't get the whole spelling bee thing and it will be akin to having all my teeth pulled out of my head with a combination sledgehammer/tractor-trailer contraption.

Help end world hunger