Shaddup Already!





















2006-01-17

Spelling Bee

Oh how I love spelling bee. It just doesn't get any better than this.

First, I just love to watch their expressions when they realize that this ain't elementary spelling bee anymore.

They would pop out of their seats, ready to conquer the world:

Then I would say a word like 'goad' and their face would drop:

Next would come the fun words, like 'monosyllabic':

It was also a study in human nature to listen to certain students spell their words.

First, there is the confident competent speller:

Me: S, your word is pacifist.
S: pacifist, p-a-c-i-f-i-s-t, pacifist

Then there is the nervous competent speller:

Me: S, your word is pacifist.
S: Um, can you give me a definition?
Me: Someone who is against violence.
S: Eh, er, can you give me an example?
Me: I am a pacifist.
S: Oh, I don't know, uh,
hm,
oh,
pacifist,
p-a-c-i,
wait,
let me start again,
pacifist,
p-a-uh-c-i-f-er-i-s
wait, wait, let me start one more time,
pacifist,
p-a-c-i-f-i-s-t,
pacifist
*sigh*
Me: That is correct.
S: Really, I got it right? Really!?!

Then there is the kid who thinks if he adds enough letters at the end of a word, he will get it right. Quantity is better than quality, right?


Me: S, your word is pacifist.

S: pacifist, p-a-c-i-f-i-s-t-i-l-s-e-d-a-b, pacifist

Finally, there is the student who has absolutely no grasp on phonics, but figures if they end each word the same way, they will eventually get one right:


Me: S, your word is pacifist.

S: pacifist, b-g-i-s-s-t-e-f-i-t-i-o-n, pacifistion


Help end world hunger