Shaddup Already!





















2005-05-02

Bad news morning

This morning at 8:30 the principal came over the intercom to announce that there would be a brief, yet important, staff meeting immediately.

Since we have conferences on M,W,and Th, a staff meeting on any those mornings is never a good thing. My first thought was, "I wonder who died."

Several people were racing through my mind. The 6th grade AP just had heart surgery last week, our clinic attendant had her thyroid removed and we have at least two women actively battling breast cancer. At the meeting, I saw the two women with breast cancer, but the other two I mentioned weren't anywhere to be seen.

I waited a while and then I finally asked someone how bad it was. She said an 8th grade student died this weekend. I asked who it was and it turned out to be a young man I taught two years ago.

He was out playing basketball when his aorta ruptured.

I've spent the day pushing it to the back of my mind. I don't know if I will go to the funeral or not. I just don't know at this point. It was easy to forget about during the day because most of my students never knew Luke.

He was just your average, everyday student with lots of friends and passion for skateboarding. He most certainly was too young to die.

Help end world hunger