Shaddup Already!





















2005-03-15

Feeling all growed up

For my birthday, which was back in December, I asked my dad to make a bed frame for me. See I had a second (or third) hand bed frame from a hotel liquidators. It lasted about a week and then fell apart. It was cheap, at least. Since then, I've been sleeping on a bed that was directly on the floor.

So, I found a picture of a simple, yet sophisticated (I like to think) bed frame and gave it to my wood-working wizard of a father. He produced a beautiful bed frame that lacked a mattress.

See I wanted a queen sized bed and I had a full sized one at that point. So my parents said they would buy me a mattress as part of my gift. Unfortunately, this would entail shopping with my mother. This is something that simply should not be done. I would have her pick me out a mattress, but she finds mattresses more firm than granite to her liking, whereas I prefer a luxurious, pillow-top. Having her pick out a mattress just wasn't going to work.

So I did what any rational person would do.

I procrastinated.

Finally it paid off because someone at work was trying to find a new home for their guest room mattress. Yay! Free mattress. And it was in much better shape than mine was.

Today my dad came over to set up my bed. I was so excited when I got home and saw it:

I haven't had a bed on a frame in over 4 years.

I don't believe I've ever had a bed frame with a headboard and a footboard, unless we count the bunkbeds I had as a kid.

Which my dad made.

My dad is cool, so is my mom because she picked out the linens. Again, I didn't want to go shopping with her :o) It's one of those mother-daughter things for sure.

Help end world hunger