Shaddup Already!





















2004-09-14

Happy Birthday, Destiny

Today is Destiny's birthday. She would have been 13 years old. I miss her terribly.

Sometimes I wonder how I can go on without her, but I keep doing it. She was such a big part of my life and now she's gone.

She was sweet and sassy and full of life. She loved nothing more than running at full speed. She enjoyed just being near me, but didn't like to be fawned all over. She was a princess.

When she was just a puppy, she tried jumping up on the couch, but she was too little to make it. She spent the next week (while waiting to grow a bit more) jumping up and hitting the edge of the couch, falling to the floor and getting right back to try it again. She was definitely a stubborn girl.

She was siberian husky who sang on command. She would howl and howl. She really enjoyed it when people howled with her. Once we were at a pet fair and the Dapper Dans (a barbershop quartet from Disney) came by and sang. She sang along with them as if she had been doing it all her life.

She liked to howl over her obedience instructor. Jeri would get frustrated, but she loved it. In fact, she would have me get Des howling for everyone that came by.

Destiny had a blue eye and a brown eye. That was the clencher in knowing that she was destined to be mine. I have a blue eye and a green eye. What bigger sign could you ask for?

I think Destiny really enjoyed playing with my mind. Once I was walking her and a little boy came up to meet my "wolf-dog." I am opposed to keeping hybrids as pets, so I always corrected people when they thought she was a wolf. Especially kids. I spent about 15 minutes convincing this kid that she was a sled dog, not a wolf dog. She stood quietly the entire time. When the kid finally acknowledged that she was not a wolf, Destiny howled. I'm sure it was a deliberate act on her part.

Destiny, I miss you so much. I know you had to leave me, probably to keep Connie company in animal Heaven. I used to tease you and tell you "I paid for 13 years, I better get at least 13 years. If I don't, I'll kill you." I never meant it. You were a brave girl right up to the end. Your body just wasn't as strong as your spirit. I'm sorry if I made you suffer too long. I only waited because I couldn't face life without you. That was incredibly selfish, but I didn't realize I was doing it at the time. You were a part of me in a way that people without animal friends can never understand. In the 12 1/2 years I knew you, we became like one. I was proud to be known around town as "Destiny's Mom."

Keep leaving me signs that you're still around. I noticed it when you knocked down the bobble-head siberian husky in my car.

Keep Connie safe and don't argue too much with her. I miss you and love you with all my heart, my little vanilla puddin' pop.

Destiny

"My little princess"

9/15/91-2/25/04

Help end world hunger