Shaddup Already!





















2004-07-08

another snake

I posted in my other diary, teacherlady about finding a garter snake on my porch this afternoon. So this evening, I look out and the cats are after something again. I peek out to see what it is and it looks like an earthworm. So I get my broom and sweep it outside. Suddenly my two cats had turned into about 200. So the entire time I'm trying to get this thing out, I have cats all over the broom and weaving in and out of my legs in an evil attempt to thwart my rescue effort. I stopped a couple of times to cuss and to inspect the creature further and decided it just might be a baby snake.

Once I got the creature outside the screen porch, I got on the internet and found out that baby garter snakes look just like worms with eyes. Who knew? I guess it was a snake. I also learned that garter snakes bear live young and, by one website's account, can have up to 80 babies at a time! (although most web sites said about 15 was normal) Great. I wonder if my previous visitor was spitting out babies while hiding somewhere in the inner workings of my porch. All I know is I'm going to bed soon, so no one will be around to protect the snakes from my cats.

_______________________________________

Before I rescued the second snake, I was making a favorite childhood treat of mine. I'm going to share the recipe. Guard it with your life because I have never been able to find this recipe anywhere except a children's cookbook from the early 1970's (scrawled in my sister's bad 1st grade handwriting, no less).

Peanut Butter Balls

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup corn syrup

1 1/4 cups powdered milk

1 1/4 cups powdered sugar

Mix all the ingrediants together and form into balls.

Now comes the creativity part. You are *supposed* to roll them in powdered sugar, but you can also use chocolate chips, nuts, m&m's, coconut, whatever else floats your boat. In addition, you can actually mix the extra stuff in it. Whoa!

I like them cold, so I store them in the fridge. I don't suppose they would go bad if left out. I don't think powdered milk spoils.

Help end world hunger